The Stress of being a Quitter

Day 9.

beerandcigs-thumb-254x267-143924As of today it has been 9 days since my last cigarette. 9 days since my last cocktail. Not that I’m trying to quit drinking forever, but I just know that after even one glass of wine I’m going to want to light up. And since I’m trying to get into a shape that isn’t round, I’d honestly rather get any extra cheat calories from cheese.

Quitting two of my favorite things (3 if you count cheese fries) at the same time seemed really scary at first but it hasn’t been impossible. Yet. I have definitely had moments where I want to crawl out of my skin. Moments when I feel a rage blackout is eminent. But I am sticking to it!! If I can make it through a couple of big tests coming up, I know I’ll be able to make it stick.

Since I’m the Queen of stressing out over sports, tonight will not be an easy one to get through vice free. Watching my favorite team vs. my favorite player (who never should have been traded) is always hard for me. And on Friday I will be at Garth Brooks with the bestest BFF to party it up until the wee hours. I’m not sure I’ve ever been to the Garden without ordering a beer.

I can do it. Watch the game from hell. Attend a girls night out.

Wish me luck!!

1 Comment

Filed under More Me, Uncategorized

One response to “The Stress of being a Quitter

  1. Aline

    yay! Proud of you. It’ll get harder before it gets easier, but you’ve been doing great with it. Keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

