10 Random Questions with Heather Vee

If you are in any way, shape or form a part of the Vampire Diaries fandom, you know Heather Vee. Not only is she the co-founder and site runner for our favorite TVD fansite, Vampire-Diaries.net, she is also co-editor of A Visitor’s Guide to Mystic Falls and co-authoring Love You To Death Season 4 with another of my favorites, Crissy Calhoun. And because she is one of the coolest ladies I’ve ever had the peasure of meeting, she agreed to answer my silly questions.

Favorite Color

Green, all varying shades, all the time.

Do you read fanfic?

I used to, but not anymore. That’s not a commentary on quality, as I have read fic better than a lot of published novels, I’ve just drifted away from that aspect of fandom.

Last episode of television that made you cry

I very rarely cry over television, but when Alaric appeared to Jeremy in the Vampire Diaries Season 3 finale, I lost it.

The drink you order when someone else is buying

Either a bourbon, neat, or a Black Velvet, which is half hard cider and half Guinness. Though I have only recently discovered the beauty of a Kentucky Blizzard, so I might have a new go-to.

Song you will never get enough of

This is an impossible question and, frankly, I think you might be a sadist, Erin. How about this: The song I cannot get enough of right now is Jack White’s cover of U2’s “Love is Blindness.”

Tumblr. Yes or no?

I’ve actually had a Tumblr (not the one I use now) since the site was started. It’s very, very different now that it has exploded in popularity. Whether that’s a good or bad thing, who’s to say, but I find myself enjoying it more when I only visit once a week or so. I think Tumblr can facilitate fascinating discussions and I think it’s interesting that fandom seems to have migrated from LiveJournal to Tumblr; Tumblr gives talented fan artists a bigger platform to show off their wares, so that’s a definite positive. In any case, I think it’s good, but not my preferred means of interacting with folks. TWITTER 4EVA.

Favorite musical instrument

Anyone who knows me understands that I have a deep banjo fixation. I often joke that I’m in need of a BANJOS MAKE ME HOT t-shirt. I’m not sure when my love started but it is an enduring love. If you ever want to know the mood you can build with a banjo, stick Neko Case’s “Things That Scare Me” or “Deep Red Bells” on the player and marvel.

The movie you can recite the most lines from

The Princess Bride. I could actually sit in front of you and quote the film in its entirety from start to finish.

Holiday you’d most like to abolish

I loathe New Year’s. I have always loathed it. I crawl into bed well before midnight and sleep through it every year.

Your favorite food to make for yourself

I’m very big on roasted asparagus right now. Throw it in a pan, drizzle with extra virgin olive oil, add minced garlic and salt, roast. Easy comfort food is remarkably easy.

Best book you’ve ever read

One book?! GO HOME, ERIN, YOU’RE DRUNK. All kidding aside – wow. I have a few books that are very close to my heart, ones I turn to again and again and again. I’m not sure I would trust anyone who had one favorite book. I think I’d just assume that’s the only book they had ever read and then I’d be sad about it.

Favorite smell

I love the smell of ballpoint ink on paper and, tragedy of tragedy, it’s something I don’t smell too often nowadays.

Your favorite thing to do alone

*raises eyebrow*

First concert

My first real concert was Tori Amos. She was touring for Under the Pink at the time, so I’m sure I’ve just dated the hell out of myself there but I can’t overstate what a huge impression she made on me in my pre-teen/teenage years. My first club show was Oasis on their first U.S. tour. I was 15 and my 18+ friends smuggled my Britpop-obsessed self in. I lost a large portion of my hearing in my left ear at that show! I’m partially deaf in that ear to this day. It was absolutely worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under 10 Random Questions, Interviews, Music, Television

Leave a Reply

