One Tree Hill: One Year Later

Tivo

One Tree HillToday marks the one year anniversary of the very last episode of One Tree Hill. And while I was late to the party, I always felt like a welcomed guest. I cannot believe that 365 days have passed since we were all together, in the same place, via our television screens. I was so emotional about losing the show a week after the finale aired (you can read all about that here) and I find myself feeling those same feelings again today. I still refuse to delete the finale from my TiVo. The show has had such an impact on me, I felt it was only right to put together a bit of a tribute in honor of this special day.

The time that we’ve spent together over the years has meant so much. And without you, we would not be here tonight. Thank you. This night is yours, this night is ours, and it’s full of all kinds of surprises.

Before you continue reading this post, I suggest you make a playlist of the following songs, put them on repeat and sing along with me (while we all cry, obviously).

“Half Moon” by Blind Pilot

“Blue Skies” by Bethany Joy Lenz

“Loaded Gun” by Tyler Hilton

“Solider” by Gavin DeGraw
“I Don’t Wanna Be” by Gavin DeGraw

“One Tree Hill” by U2

9x13 1I had the amazing opportunity to recap all of the season 9 episodes and share with you all of my thoughts, feelings, questions, and hopes. Those posts no longer exist but the memory of discussing every moment with you, is fresh in my mind. Being a part of the OTH Family is one of the most positive fandom experiences I have ever had. I want to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you, again, for making it such a wonderful time for me. I connected with so many friends through this show, friends I continue to connect with a year later. Not many television shows can inspire such loyalty, such love, such devotion. So many of you grew up with One Tree Hill. I was blessed enough to be allowed to tag along for the end of the ride. I thank you for that.

It’s the oldest story in the world. One day, you’re seventeen and planning for someday. And then quietly without you really noticing, someday is today, and then someday is yesterday. And this is your life.

Not only does this show have an amazing group of fans, it also has an incredible cast. So many of them tweeted their experiences during their final days of shooting One Tree Hill, and so many of them were kind enough to share their time with us. My two favorites spoke to us on the night of the finale. Looking back on their tweets makes my heart ache.

Cast Tweets

Sophia Bush shared this today. How great is it that she is still feeling and sharing the OTH love as much as we are?

Sophia

One thing the fans of this show brought to me, something that made me love OTH and the fandom even more, were the fan vids. I have posted just a few of my faves for you (in no particular order) below. If you have already seen them, I hope you enjoy watching them all over again. If you have not, get your tissues ready. They still make me emotional  to this day.

If you had a friend you knew you’d never see again, what would you say? If you could do one last thing for someone you love, what would it be? Say it. Do it. Don’t wait. Nothing lasts forever.

9x13 3When I first began speaking to other fans about One Tree Hill, I was taken aback by level of love and devotion that people had for a show that critics loathed and the networked seemed less than excited to hold on to. There is a reason this show lasted as long as it did. It wasn’t just the real and heartfelt stories, told  beautifully by the actors portraying favorite characters, it was because of the passion and adoration of the fans. They worked hard to keep their show and followed it through to the end.

Make a wish, and place it in your heart. Anything you want, everything you want. Do you have it? Good. Now believe it can come true. You never know where the next miracle’s gonna come from. The next memory. The next smile. The next wish come true. But if you believe that it’s right around the corner… You open your heart and mind to the possibility of it, to the certainty of it. You just might get the thing you wishin’ for. The world is full of magic. You just have to believe in it. So make your wish. Do you have it? Good. Now believe in it. With all your heart.

One Tree HillThis last week, in preparation for today’s anniversary, I asked all of you to submit to me your thoughts and feelings about what One Tree Hill means to you, one year later. I was so moved by everything you all shared with me. I loved reading about how this little television show shaped and changed your lives, and continues to do so today. My life has been molded and inspired by getting to talk with all of you. Thank you to everyone who submitted their wonderful words:

@Jennabeans24 – how about one word? Everything. I will carry OTH with me for the rest of my life. This show helped shape me. I wouldn’t be who I am without it. Plain & simple.

@EmilyLatka – I had OTH from 15 to 23. It got me through my cancer treatments, life changes, & friend changes.”Sometimes they come back.”

@yellowmonkey26  – we have all grown with these characters, cried with them laughed with them, this show will always be my favourite 🙂

@kairelovesoth – Seems unfair we have 2 live w/out this perfect show! Life’s emptier 4 sure! I will always cherish my time in TreeHill! #oth

@SophiaBushFan10 – #OTH will always be there like the old friend you turn to for comfort. Mark created something timeless.

@Zhezal –  One Tree Hill still means everything to me. The show has taught me so many things about life.I will never forget OTH<3 #home

@NoelElaineOTH  – #OTH is my heart, my comfort, my therapy, my soul. It makes me brave. It has saved me over & over. It’s everything. Still.

@othsavedme – OTH has made me see that anything is possible. Love happiness pain suffering joy and tears are a part of life that is normal. It’s the best thing to have happened to me. It saved my soul. OTH has made me who I am. I miss it every day. Every single person who made OTH what it is will always mean so much to me.

@AlineBouDiwan – #OTH has gotten me through my happiest & hardest times. It makes me believe in love, hope, happiness & dreams coming true. And a grin like Julian’s (seriously though).

@RiverCourtSML – A year later I still miss it everyday, but all that magic is still with me & all the lessons guide me through everyday life.

@OTHLOVER_ –  #OTH means everything to me! A year without it has been tough, but I will never forget it, it lives in my heart Forever.

@TheStyles83 – We Love One Tree Hill.

@LoVyAMB –  a lot! It means hope, inspiration, emotion… I am who I am thanks to this show…

@s9onetreehill –  it means everything. Maybe now more than ever because the lessons are so meaningful now that the show is over.

@natcfc – OTH CHANGED MY LIFE. i’m a better person because of it, I’ve met awesome people because of it and I’m sure that my life can be separated pre/ pos OTH. I miss it everyday and I’m more grateful everyday that i got to watch it.

@LauraOthLover1 – OTH saved me and gave me hope when I was going give up on this life OTH found words that I felt but was scared to say them.

@ali_lauren1 –  there are now words that describe what #OTH meant to me. :’)

@alovelybean – One year later, One Tree Hill remains the constant in life. whatever comes my way… OTH is there & I find an understanding in it. Not only has it helped to shape who I am by growing up with me, but I will always come back to it when new challenges confront me in life. OTH is my love & my home.

@KristenMichele6 – it still means everything – it was so much more than a show and it always will be. OTH means family, more now than ever.

@JhieWeez – #OTH is simply life changing. The stories and characters are easy to relate to. It will forever be my all time fave show!

@jenileesk8 – it is still a show i will never get tired of. Gave me actors i will always love and music i will never stop listening to!

I still sometimes sit alone, iPod playing my favorite OTH songs (“Do  you take the non believers?”) and I think about where our favorite characters are today. Do Nathan and Haley have more kids? Is Haley still making music? Is Brooke still getting along with her parents? Are Chase and Chris Keller making out right this minute? It was such a joy to become a part of these characters lives, to get so swept up in what they were doing, where they were going and whom they were loving. Are you all still wondering about them, too?

1x01

It’s a magical place, son. I’ve seen that magic in your eyes for the last nine years. There’s only one Tree Hill Jamie Scott, and it’s your home.

Thank you again to everyone reading and sharing with me. Your constant and continued support means the world.  I love you every day. I leave you with one of my very favorite photos, courtesy of my good friend Chelsea who was integral during my OTH mourning period this time last year. Just remember friends, no matter what happens, hold high, have faith. Happy anniversary, OTH Family and once again, Good Night Tree Hill!

goodnightnaley

Don’t forget to check out the One Tree Hill Retro Recaps!! Currently working on Season 3 and I will continue to add to them as I have time!!

2 Comments

Filed under Reviews, Television

2 responses to “One Tree Hill: One Year Later

  1. Thank you, Erin, for making it incredibly difficult to keep myself together at work while I read this (for the second time) lol. This was a great article and it brought back a lot of OTH memories with other fans on twitter and just the show in general.

    Thanks for a great post!! I miss the oth family but I’m glad for the most part we’re all still in touch :).

    And ps – I do am wondering if Chris and Chase are currently making out. Hopefully Mark can clear this up soon.

  2. Engela

    Your post breaks my heart. I know it’s silly, but I miss the characters so much. They were really a huge part of my life. Family.

    So glad I am not the only this show has touched so much.

Leave a Reply

