These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: 1/29/13

Lots of good stuff in this week’s list of FAVORITES!! I really hope you guys check them all out. I never write about stuff I only kind of like just a little bit maybe.

end-of-watch-posterEnd of Watch – I remember seeing previews for this movie and thinking that it looked pretty awesome, even though (don’t hate me) I am not the biggest Jake Gyllenhaal fan. The movie about two Los Angles cops was released on DVD last week and over the weekend my husband & I finally had the chance to check it out. Both of us LOVED it. A few minutes in I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to take the shaky, hand held camera angles for a full movie but in no time at all I was too swept up in the action and the stories to notice and when I did, it only added to the intensity of the narrative. I was easily pulled into the lives of these partners and really grew to love their relationship. I won’t spoil the ending but it caused a lot of very different and very acute emotions. Grab it from the Red Box or On Demand as soon as you can. Great movie.

CrowOldies but Goodies – The husband and I were in serious movie watching mode this weekend and not just new ones. We also watched Reality Bites & The Crow for probably the millionth and billionth times. I love both of these movies but the best parts of each one are their soundtracks. AMAZING compilations of music and, for me, an instant time warp via my iPod. Reality Bites is full of indie rock and pop including the forever famous, “Stay,” from Lisa Loeb. The Crow is almost entirely industrial and hard rock from bands like Rage Against the Machine and Pantera. Favorites from Reality Bites are The Juliana Hatfield 3’s “Spin the Bottle” and “Going, Going, Gone” from The Posies. It’s harder to pick favorites on The Crow but I have to go with the Nine Inch Nails cover of Joy Division’s “Dead Souls” and The Cure’s remastered “Burn,” both of which are mainstays on my annual Halloween Party Playlist. Both soundtracks are available on iTunes and Amazon. If you don’t have them, get them. Music this great is timeless.

Carrie DiariesThe Carrie Diaries – The newest CW show is SO MUCH MORE than I ever hoped that it would be. I watched it online a few days after the Pilot aired because every TV genius I follow on Twitter was raving about it. They were not wrong. It’s absolutely darling and so much fun. As a huge Sex and the City fan, I had my doubts about this “prequel” series. Here’s the thing, though: If you loved SATC as I did, it’s pretty easy to distance yourself from the Carrie of this show and the Carrie you grew to love so long ago. They are the same but different (in case that makes any sense). And if you hated SATC or never watched it, you don’t have to be worried about what you hated or what you missed! Because it’s different! AND OMG THE MUSIC!! Amazing in epic proportions.  I strongly urge anyone and everyone who is a fan of or can relate to nostalgia or teen drama or growing up or The 80’s, in general, to watch this show!! You will not be sorry!! And if you are, you have my permission to TP my house! The Carrie Diaries airs every Monday at 8PM EST on The CW!!  

SpeakersHDMX Portable Speaker Case – My sister sent me this little speaker system for Christmas and it’s pretty much the best gift ever. As most of you know, I am OBSESSED with my music. I have an iPod dock in almost every room of my house. Which is great when I am hanging out in one room. But, when I am cleaning or cooking or doing a bunch of stuff at the same time, this little set is PERFECT. My iPod zips safely inside so even if my clumsy ass drops it, no damage will be done. And 3 AAA batteries last a really long time. The sound will not blow your mind but the convenience and the price will. Most online stores including Macy’s and Bed Bath & Beyond sell this gem for less than $10.

1 Comment

Filed under Movies, Music, Television

One response to “These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: 1/29/13

  1. Tmateotb

    After the last week of squeeing on Twitter you know I love Reality Bites, I got my old cd out the other night and danced around my house to it. Am.interested in Carrie diaries too, not sure what channel it’s going to be on it Oz yet.

Leave a Reply

