These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: 1/22/13

Just wanted to share with you all a few of the things I am in love with today/this week/in general. I promise to try and be better about posting a list at least weekly. It’s fun and it gives me a chance to rave about the pop culture things that are making me happy! Hopefully you will listen to me and love them too! Enjoy!

Argo PosterArgo – This movie came out AGES ago and I feel like I might be the last person on the planet to see it but HOLY CRAP am I so glad that I finally did. Amazing film. I was on the edge of my seat for the entire two hours, wringing my hands to a painful degree. The moments of Hollywood levity were greatly appreciated and really helped balance out the entertainment value. A very well told and exciting story that left me with a happy feeling (and an ulcer) in the end. My favorite of the Oscar films I’ve seen so far (which include Silver Linings Playbook and Zero Dark Thirty). I will also be jumping on the band wagon raging about Ben Affleck’s Best Director snub. His acting in the movie wasn’t too shabby either. Run, do not walk to the nearest theater to see this movie if you have not done so and then come thank me. I’ll wait here.

Following PosterThe Following – An incredible new TV series airing on Fox. The pilot was an absolute blast to watch and not just because I have a totally healthy interest in serial killers. Kevin Bacon is the bee’s knees as a former FBI agent assisting on a case he once thought was closed for good. The show is scary and intense with just the right amount of intrigue and gore. I loved almost everything about the Pilot episode, including the best ever use of Marilyn Manson’s cover of “Sweet Dreams.” I am really excited about the upcoming season of this way creepy and exciting new drama. You can catch an encore airing of the first episode on Friday night on Fox and I really think that everyone should.

JTJustin Timberlake – “Suit & Tie” ft. JAY Z – I have talked to a TON of people about JT’s latest and I would say it’s split pretty evenly down the middle between people who love the new tune and people who feel like Justin somehow owes us something more after all his time away from the recording studio. I am definitely one of the former. The song is smooth with a great beat. It gives me a lot of the same feelings I had with JT’s first solo album and it makes me shake my butt. That’s good enough for me. And honestly JAY-Z can do no wrong. Speaking of JAY-Z, I am also totally obsessed with his new song from the upcoming Jackie Robinson movie. What a JAM. Listen to both below (YouTube links) and let me know in the comments what you think.

Justin Timberlake – “Suit & Tie ft.” JAY Z

JAY-Z – “Brooklyn (Go Hard)”

photo credit: nhl.com

photo credit: nhl.com

Boston Bruins Hockey – To say that the NFL post season has been a disappointment for me is like saying the Grand Canyon is a little hole in the ground. Thank the heavens that hockey is back. JUST IN TIME. And the Bruins get all of the credit for healing this sport’s girl’s grass stained heart. The season opener was fantastic and yesterday’s game (which I got to attend thanks to the world’s best BFF) was a total thrill ride. No matter who your team is, I hope you are enjoying hockey being back in our lives as much as I am. Football what? The Bruins face off against the New York Rangers again on Wednesday night at 7:30 PM EST. GO BRUINS!

photo credit: cwtv.com

photo credit: cwtv.com

Felicia Day on Supernatural – I have been a big fan of Felicia Day for a long time, longer even than I’ve been a fan of Supernatural. She was great in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, mind blowing on Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog and hilarious on her web series, The Guild. Her first appearance on Supernatural was a real highlight of Season 7 and on Wednesday  night (9:00 PM EST on The CW) she returns as Charlie Bradbury, the geek girl we all want to be. The photos of her and Dean Winchester (Jensen Ackles) all decked out in costume are making me positively giddy. If you’re a fan of hers but don’t watch Supernatural, you should still probably check it out. This one looks like a lot of fun.

*Is there anything you are absolutely in love with right now? Tell me all about in the comments! I want to love more things!

2 Comments

Filed under Movies, Music, Sports, Television

2 responses to “These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: 1/22/13

  1. Aline

    Is it too stalkerish for me to say I want to go home, get warm on my couch and just read your blog all day?

    I LOOOOOVED Argo. It was such an amazing movie. Ben was amazing acting in it and directing it, and everyone was amazing in it. And the line “Don’t pronounce the second T in Toronto, no one in Toronto does that” was classic lol :).

    Miss your blog! Wish I wasn’t working and at school so much to read more lol.

  2. Bird

    I was so damn stressed out during Argo! It was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

