10 Random Questions with Carina MacKenzie

Most of you who follow my favorite TV shows know Carina MacKenzie of Zap2It. She has a seriously awesome job. She’s also a pretty awesome lady. I’ve chatted with Carina before about The Vampire Diaries Friday Night LightsOne Tree Hill and television in general. This time, Carina has agreed to answer a bunch of my random questions just for fun. And because she’s cool like that, she answered more than ten. Don’t forget to follow her on twitter for the latest news on all my TV faves.

Favorite Color:

Green. I don’t understand why green isn’t just universally accepted as the best color.

Do you read fanfic?

I used to, but not really anymore! People always tweet me links to TVD fan fiction but I’ve never read it. I did read a good Hunger Games one last year.

Person you’d most like to have dinner with tonight:

I hate myself because the first thing that came to mind was my dog. I’m going to die alone. (I would also really like to have dinner with Michael J. Fox. I’ve spent the last three years deciding what to ask him if I ever get to interview him. It’d be epic.)

Last episode of television that made you cry:

The Parenthood abortion episode, twice — when Drew went to his sister for help and when he went to his mom. Just a fantastic performance by Miles Heizer. He’s very underrated.

The drink you order when someone else is buying:

Wine. And I make them choose it. 

Song you will never get enough of:

“Thunder Road.”

The name of your secret spy identity:

Working on getting that declassified.

Tumblr. Yes or no?

No. Every time I go on Tumblr I regret it. I generally see people saying terrible things about me, and then I try to defend myself, and I end up looking like the asshole, not them, and then I have to go eat my feelings and then they call me fat and it’s a really vicious cycle. So obviously I keep coming back for more.

Last movie you saw in the theater and did you like it?

Zero Dark Thirty. I liked it when I watched it, but when I thought about it further I decided it was pretty overrated. 

Favorite musical instrument:

Acoustic guitar. I don’t know, I’m not musically inclined at all.

If you were forced to be on a reality show, which would it be?

“True Life: I’m A Vampire Diaries Fan”

The movie you can recite the most lines from:

I can, quite literally, recite Back to the Future from beginning to end. I do it in my head when I can’t sleep.

Ferris wheel, Roller Coaster or Arcade?

Roller coaster.

Holiday you’d most like to abolish:

Even when I’m not single, I have always hated Valentine’s Day.

You’re a groupie. Who’s the band?

Does Taylor Swift count? I’d be a groupie for Taylor Swift.

Your favorite food to make for yourself:

I pretty much don’t cook ever, but when I do I make super healthy chocolate chip pumpkin muffins. But seriously, I can’t cook. I get scrambled eggs delivered.

Best book you’ve ever read:

OK, so I have to qualify this answer. I tend to judge media by how much it hurts me, not how much I enjoy it. This is because I am a masochist, apparently, but also because I think that it’s easy for a book or a TV show or a movie to make someone feel great. It’s more of an accomplishment if a book or a TV show or a movie can make someone feel gutted and sad and alone, if it can make you feel changed. That said, the best book I’ve ever read is “Columbine” by Dave Cullen. It absolutely destroyed me and I thought about little else for weeks after I read it. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to just anyone, but it changed the way I see people and the way I react to tragedy. My favorite book that made me feel good is “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” by Betty Smith. I get something new out of it every time I read.

Favorite smell:

Voluspa’s Suede Blanc candle. It smells sexy.

Waffles, Pancakes or French Toast?

French toast.

Best GIF you’ve ever seen:

That is an impossible question to answer. Crying Dawson is up there.

Travel and/or flight ritual?

The last few plane rides I’ve been on I’ve done Twitter Q&As. People ask me the most random stuff. It’s amazing how time flies when you’re talking about yourself.

Your favorite thing to do alone:

Write.

First concert:

It was one of those Jingle Ball things in NYC; I went with my two best friends and my dad. Christina Aguilera was the headliner, Destiny’s Child was there, I remember Vitamin C, BBMak, and the band Fisher. Fisher was just a nobody band who experienced a tiny moment that year because their song was the song that played when Pacey and Joey boned for the first time. My dad was miserable.

Cake or Bacon?

Bacon. 

Pajamas in public. Yes or no?

I used to be a yes person, but I also used to wake up still-drunk a lot. No.

Leave a comment

Filed under 10 Random Questions, Interviews

Leave a Reply

