Movie Review: The Amazing Spider-Man

It’s hard not to compare this latest Spider-Man movie to those that came before it. Especially since I stupidly watched the 2002 version just this last week. There are definitely parts of this latest film that I liked more. Definitely parts I liked less.

Less? The science (F**k you science!) and the back story dragged a bit. It felt like forever before we really got into the super hero stuff. I appreciated everything that was told, I just think they could have told us faster. I never expected so much of the movie to take place inside a classroom or a lab.

More? Andrew Garfield’s Peter Parker was incredible. He was vulnerable and unassuming and absolutely darling with his dishevled hair and constant stammer. His emotions were raw and so perfectly etched on his face. You could really feel all of his insecurities and tough choices. A job very well done.

Emma Stone as Gwen Stacy was sweet and funny. Peter’s perfect match. I’m glad they didn’t go the Mary Jane route again, despite that being the comic book way. I also thoroughly enjoyed Denis Leary as her father, the chief of police. He’s hilarious in everything he does though the funniest part is that the native Bostonian is always a New Yorker!

The film itself was beautifully shot. I didn’t see it in 3D but I don’t think that could have added a whole lot more. One scene, a sea of black umbrellas in the rain, actually took my breath away. And while the action was slow to start, once it did, it was exciting and fun and driving.

This Spider-Man was a little slower moving but so much less silly or hokey. Just dark enough to be great. Definitely one for the collection. And I can’t wait for a 2nd helping of Andrew as my new favorite Peter Parker.

1 Comment

Filed under Movies

One response to “Movie Review: The Amazing Spider-Man

  1. I have to disagree with your view on the backstory. I thought it was very well paced throughout, and the director clearly recognised that its as much about Peter Parker as it is about Spider-man, and thankfully both were given personalities sorely lacking from Rami’s interpretation. Andrew Garfield is a much more likeable protaganist. It’s not perfect, but there’s enough quiliaty here to enjoy, and be optimistic that the inevitable sequel will be even better.
    If you enjoyed Rami’s version, then you probably won’t enjoy this. But if your like me and have little respect for his vision, then you will enjoy The Amazing Spider-man significantly more. I agree with everthing else though, Gwen Stacy, the acting, the impressive cast, have actually made me excited for the future of the series. Great review by the way.

Leave a Reply

