Home is Where the Heart is

I was beyond shocked to wake up to news of a shooting at a movie theater in my former home town of Aurora, CO. A theater I used to frequent often. I still have the ticket stub from the last movie I saw there (Fahrenheit 9/11) the summer before I moved to Massachusetts.

On Tuesday night I returned to Boston after 2 weeks in my home state of Colorado, a state already devastated by raging fires. And as I was walking home from the Salem farmer’s market last night, I saw a columbine blooming in front of my house and felt homesick for the mountains, despite just getting back from there. As I mentioned in my previous post:

Colorado is where I grew up. It’s where I became the person that I am. And it is filled with my family, the people who helped to make me who I am.

I spoke with my Denver based  sister this morning to make sure that everyone we know and love was safe and healthy. “It feels just like Columbine all over again,” she said. “Get out of the house. Don’t sit and watch the news all day.” We were both living at home with our parents in Aurora, CO on that day in April 1999. Sitting on a sofa, glued to the television, just 6 miles from this morning’s terrible shooting. And she is right. This feels very much the same. Only this time my mom isn’t sitting next to me, holding my hand.

It’ all so very surreal. And senseless. And it makes me want to zip up my still unpacked suitcase and get on a plane, back to my friends and family in the Centennial State. I just wish there was something I could do. Something that would help.

If you are in CO and can, please donate blood. You can find more details here.

To all the victims and their families: my thoughts and prayers are with you and with everyone back home. God bless.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Movies

Leave a Reply

