The World’s Oldest Teenager

I was on the plane yesterday, heading home to Boston after 2 weeks in Colorado and I was feeling a little sad about it. So, I was doing things that were comforting. I was reading my Comic Con TV Guide with the cast of The Vampire Diaries on the cover, drinking Diet Coke and when I wasn’t listening to Carly Rae Jepsen I was watching season 1 episodes of The O.C. When I bent down to scratch where my knot tied anklet was itching me, it occurred to me: I am the world’s oldest teenager. And I don’t even care.

The parts about my trip (aside from spending time with friends and family) that I loved the most also made me feel a little young for my age. I loved that staying in my aunt’s big, beautiful house meant that I could blare my music all day and night and dance around like a fool without worrying about neighbors who might be sharing a wall or a floor. I loved that drinking at high altitude meant no hangovers (Sogrape Gazela Vinho Verde is my current fave).

My main job for two weeks, besides the occasional baby sitting,  was just making sure the house was taken care of so I was free to read as much as I wanted and watch as many Channing Tatum movies as I could find. It was pretty magical. I loved going for pedicures with my sister and my CO bestie (of course we all got flowers painted on our toes) and then doing handstands in the pool for an entire afternoon.

I have since come home to a pile of mail that needs dealt with, tons of unpacking that needs done and several messes that I made before I left on my trip. All will need to be taken care of but I made myself a CO trip playlist that should help me make it through the not so fun stuff.

I was super excited to see my husband and my MA bestie and I am really looking forward to the upcoming trip to Ohio with the rest of my Boston friends. But there are a lot of things I am missing as well. Like drying off after a shower. The humidity out here on the East Coast makes that impossible. And the July temperature really never drops here at home, even after dark. I’m also missing the two little girls who loved to color with me and thought that I was the COOLEST EVER!

Colorado is where I grew up. It’s where I became the person that I am. And it is filled with my family, the people who helped to make me who I am. The house where I stayed is surrounded by petunias. The flower that my mother always filled her gardens with. Every time I smell them, I think of her and miss her so much. At night there, the air is so calm and comfortable. And so very quiet. The only sounds were the crickets and the lake water lapping on the shore. I’m really going to miss that.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Music, Photos, Television, Travel

One response to “The World’s Oldest Teenager

  1. South Boston Squirrel Trainer

    OHIO BABY, OHIO!

Leave a Reply

