My Interview: The Televixen, Melissa Girimonte

My favorite writer this week is Melissa Girimonte, Founder & Editor-in-Chief for TheTelevixen.com. Melissa is a big fan of my favorite vampire shows (True Blood and The Vampire Diaries) and one of the smartest writers on the web. She also does some amazing podcasting and theorizing. Be sure to follow Melissa on Twitter (@thetelevixen) for all the latest her brilliant mind has to offer.

Brilliant mind? You are way too kind …

You love television so much you were driven to create one of my favorite blogs on the subject. Of everything you’re watching right now, what is your favorite?

I’d have to say Fringe holds a very special place in my heart at the moment. The fourth season recently wrapped and I was sooooo happy to hear that it is getting a proper sendoff with a fifth season. I am so invested in each and every one of the characters and their journeys. I’m usually not one to “ship” a couple, but I absolutely adore Peter Bishop and Olivia Dunham together. Whenever something great happens for them (which is rare on Fringe), I can’t help but cheer and clap as if they were close friends. And Walter Bishop – how could you not want to just reach through the screen, smooth his hair and tell him everything is going to be alright?

Anything you are wishing you could give up?

I know I’m going to catch some serious heat for this one, but throughout the third and fourth seasons, I really wanted to say goodbye to True Blood. With a universe that rich with potential characters and storylines, they just seem to spend too much time on things I don’t give a rat’s a$$ about! Every summer, I say I’m not going to watch, and like clockwork, I get sucked back in by clever marketing and the hope that it will recapture the magic of its first two seasons.

With season finales upon us, which show had/will have the greatest cliff hanger? The saddest goodbye?

I’m expecting Revenge to end its season on a juicy note, and I’m nervous to see who’s going to meet their end on Game of Thrones. The saddest goodbye would have to go to Alaric Saltzman on Vampire Diaries. I may have cried and yelled at my television over that one. But there were also some sweet endings that left me smiling, like on Castle and How I Met Your Mother.

There have been a lot of great new shows this past season. Do you have a favorite?

Revenge is definitely up there. I never expected to get caught up in that web of lies quite so easily. The LA Complex was also a great little surprise. It’s been a long time since there was some really good, soapy fun on my TV, and this one totally fits my smut quota!

Is there one that you were expecting to love but just don’t?

Touch. It totally breaks my heart that it wasn’t what I hoped it would be, given my love of Kiefer Sutherland. They’ve played it way too safe to keep more people watching and that’s been its downfall in my opinion. Plus, I prefer Sutherland as the good guy with questionable methods!

What are your feelings on The Vampire Diaries Season 3? Do you have a stand out character and/or story line you just can’t get enough of?

Klaus was completely awesome all season and I really loved the little dance between him and Caroline. Some of those scenes had me reaching for the smelling salts because of major swooning! Elijah continues to rock as well, even sans side part. He just owns the screen whenever he’s on it!

What summer show are you most looking forward to?

Breaking Bad is at the top of my list. After last year’s jaw-dropping (pun intended) finale, I can’t wait to see where they go next. I’m also really excited for White Collar and Awkward. Oh, and there’s a new Canadian sci-fi series, Continuum, that starts at the end of May. It looks really promising!

Favorite television character of all time:

It’s a tie between Gwen Cooper on Torchwood and Lorelai Gilmore on Gilmore Girls. A lot of people call Gwen a “Mary Sue”, but I have to disagree. She’s a strong, smart, gorgeous, butt kicking lady who faces unknown terrors head on, rocket launcher in hand, ready to help save Earth! And Lorelai Gilmore because I wish I could be as witty with words as she was.

Favorite television moment of all time:

I have a few. The phone conversation between Penny and Desmond in the Lost episode “The Constant”. I could watch that over and over again. Monica proposing to Chandler on Friends, her, down on one knee in the candlelit apartment when he thinks he’s missed his chance. The scene in the Angel episode “I Will Remember You” where Angel tells Buffy – after a moment of bliss and being a real couple – that he’s asked the PTBs to make him a vampire again because he can’t protect her. That exchange ruins me every single time! And finally, Jack and Ianto’s final scene together in Torchwood: Children of Earth. There isn’t a box of tissues large enough to sop up those tears!

I think I just realized something about myself. For someone who claims to not be invested in TV couples, I sure have an interesting choice of favourite TV moments!

The show you wished would have never ended:

I think that most shows that I’ve truly loved ended at the right time – Six Feet Under, Friends, Scrubs, just to name a few – but there are a few that I wish had at least another season, like Veronica Mars, Firefly, Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles and Terriers. I think they still had some great stories to tell and their lives were cut way too short.

If you could say one thing to all of the current TV watchers what would it be?

I know it’s easy to stick with TV shows that are “safe”, like most procedurals out there, but once in a while, you should jump head first into a series with an intricate storyline. It saddens me every TV season that some really great shows don’t get a fair shake because people don’t want to become invested. TV watchers should be willing to take more risks. This is a great time to be a TV fan!

3 Comments

Filed under Interviews, Television

3 responses to “My Interview: The Televixen, Melissa Girimonte

  1. Great Post! I have to agree on the favourite Lorelai Gilmore, and as an add on to shows I wished never ended My So Called Life.

  2. I don’t have a lot of time for television in my life but Melissa brought up a lot of storylines that I might want to start watching. Show I wish never ended…Seinfeld!

  3. onlymystory

    I adore you for picking the Monica/Chandler proposal. I sob every time I watch that scene from the moment Joey stands in the doorway and smiles knowingly before closing the door.

Leave a Reply

