Retro Recaps: One Tree Hill: 1×13, 1×14, 1×15 & 1×16

Happy #OTH Wednesday! How awesome is it that it’s the 23rd? I know, I am such a nerd. This week has been super heavy with the OTH nostalgia as the UK finished up the series and The CW here in the states re-played the final two. One Tree Hill is in the air! Don’t miss all of the OTH goodies at the end of the recap!

1×13 – “Hanging By A Moment”

Overview: Whitey and Haley both get a little help from Nathan, Peyton is guilt-ridden by what happened with Lucas and Keith is anxious for Karen to get home. A little too anxious.

Random Observations:

  • How awesome is it that Nathan is shirtless in Haley’s dream? I mean, why wouldn’t he be? We know where her mind is at.
  • I forgot Dan & Deb were still going to therapy. That’s not a waste of time with Dan or anything.
  • I think it’s kind of ballsy for Lucas & Peyton to make out right there in the hall. Isn’t high school like FULL of blabber mouths?
  • AWKWARD!! Brooke telling Peyton she’s falling for Lucas right when they’re about to drop their big secret? Yikes.
  • “I don’t want to go with my dad. I want to be with you.” *sigh*
  • Dan is just AWFUL to Keith. Makes me crazy. That is not how brothers should treat each other.
  • Haley has every right to be mad at Lucas. I think what he’s doing behind Brooke’s back is terrible. He should have broken up with her right away. And why is he all up in Haley’s business about Nathan again? They’re wonderful together!!! Shut up Lucas.
  • I love the conversation between Nathan and Whitey. It’s so indicative of their relationship. And then Nathan lets his sweet little boy side show and it’s just very heartwarming. He says exactly what Whitey needs to hear.
  • The first time I saw that car accident it made me jump out of my seat. Quite unexpected.
  • I love how that doctor already knows Lucas will need surgery after just glancing at him for a second. He’s good.

Best Bit: Nathan teaching Haley how to shoot a free throw. SO EFFING CUTE. You can tell that he loves that there is something he can help her with after everything she has helped him with. It’s all over his face. And she is so worried about impressing him still. I just love it.

Ugh! Moment: Stupid Nathan. I am not saying that he should lie but maybe telling Haley why he went after her at the start was not the brightest idea.

Fave Quote: Whitey: (to Nathan) “You were in the library? Temperature must’ve dropped in hell.”

Biggest Question: Should Dan have moved Lucas from the accident scene like that? What if he had a broken neck or something?

On My iPod: “Pink Bullets” by The Shins

1×14 – “I Shall Believe”

Overview: Lucas lies unconscious in the hospital after the accident and drama continues to flow around him as Peyton, Nathan, Haley & Keith all feel their own kind of guilt.

Random Observations:

  • UGH!!! I absolutely HATE when Nathan and Haley are fighting. Haley has a right to be upset and Nathan was kinda dumb for sharing the whole truth but can’t they just move past it right away? For me?
  • Oh man. Keith and Karen. Before it all goes bad. They are so sweet. He kissed the top of her head. I love that.
  • Lucas is out cold surrounded by all the women who love him. Except Haley who can’t bring herself to go see him. AWKWARD.
  • Nathan: “How’s Lucas?” Haley: “Like you care.” Nathan: “Haley, come on. That’s not fair. Look, we’re not tight, but I don’t wanna see the guy in the hospital.” Haley: “Why? Because if he’s out of circulation, then you can’t use me to piss him off?” STOP IT YOU TWO!! JUST STOP!!
  • I have to give Brooke props. I am not sure I could ever just hang out with my boyfriend’s mom whom I just met while said boyfriend was in a coma.
  • My mom found out about my first tattoo while I was in the hospital too. Best way to break the news. They can’t get that mad then.
  • Moira Kelly is a really pretty crier.
  • BLECH. Dan. Good God. Just give the woman a damn divorce.
  • Peyton has great conversations in this episode. With Karen, with Haley and with Nathan. She’s kind of a screw up sometimes but she gives good advice.
  • Nathan and Lucas have been strangers and enemies and now Nathan is helping him drink water. Weird.
  • When Haley cries, I cry. Starting when Nathan goes to see her in the café. Even this early into their relationship, Nathan knows that Haley needs Lucas and vice versa and he won’t stop until he helps her. The crying carries all the way through to the end when she crawls into Lucas’ arms. Best friends forgive each other. SOB CITY.

Best Bit: I think it takes a LOT for Nathan to go and sit and talk to Lucas while he’s unconscious in the hospital. It’s great proof of how far he has already come and how much he cares about Haley. It’s also a great illustration of the weight Nathan is carrying. He thinks comatose Lucas is the lucky one?

Ugh! Moment: When Karen tells Keith to leave. I understand why she’s upset, but it still hurts my heart. Keith was so close to getting what he always wanted and then BAM!

Fave Quote: Nathan: “Look, I know that it was wrong to go after you for the reasons that I did. I can’t apologize for it. I’m glad I did it. I’m not that person anymore. It’s because of you.”

Biggest Question: Where does Haley find all of her weird hats?

On My iPod: “I Shall Believe” by Sheryl Crow

1×15 – “Suddenly Everything Has Changed”

Overview: Lucas is home from the hospital and must face the women in his life. All of them.

Random Observations:

  • Poor Brooke. She tries so hard. And she just has no idea. Sucks.
  • Did Deb actually think that Dan would just give her an easy divorce?
  • Oh my God Peyton. The wacked out phone excuse? WEAK.
  • “What’s wrong with the old you?” I love you Nathan Scott. You’re just the sweetest. Ever.
  • Good Lord. Those two ass holes are literally fighting over Nathan. Poor kid. I just want to slam their heads together.
  • Oh Brooke. Hanging out with your ex’s mom? You are not making things easier for yourself. Poor girl needs some love.
  • OMG THE LYING LUCAS!!! So bad!! I cannot deny the chemistry between Lucas and Peyton but what they do to Brooke is so shitty. But Lucas does have a point with Karen about Keith. That sucks.
  • I seriously cannot say enough about what terrible parents Deb & Dan are. The manipulating from Dan? The lying from Deb? They should both be in jail. Right after I stab them nearly to death. Ass hats.
  • It was a nice sentiment Peyton but it was a bit too late. Whether you continue your relationship with Lucas or not, the damage has been done.
  • “Come on! You said you would do anything to help me and this would really take my mind off things.” Who could ever say no to that face? Ever?

Best Bit: Is there a question? When Haley sings to Nathan for the first time, Lord help me. Joy’s voice is just magical. I get chills. And his face as he watches her? KILL ME NOW!!

Ugh! Moment: Realizing that Brooke saw Lucas and Peyton on the webcam. Of all the ways to find out…

Fave Quote: Nathan: “I realized that if I’m gonna live in the moment, I just wanna live in it with you.”

Biggest Question: Did Lucas honestly think he would get away with messing with Peyton behind Brooke’s back?

On My iPod: “Elsewhere” by Sarah McLachlan (sung on the episode by Bethany Joy Lenz) and “I Can’t Make Me” by Butterfly Boucher

1×16 – “The First Cut Is the Deepest”

Overview: Dan continues to manipulate everyone around him as Lucas, Brooke and Peyton deal with the fallout of a love triangle gone wrong.

Random Observations:

  • That look Nathan throws Peyton after she asks about the car is just ADORABLE. Half “shut up” and half “I’m a snotty brat.” Love it. Also, his DSL promises are very charming.
  •  “I’m sorry for the way things ended last time Nate.” “Whatever.” Nathan Scott. Please stop being perfect. It’s really not fair.
  • Lucas is SUCH A BRAT!!! I seriously just want to smack him and put him in time out just like I would a toddler acting the exact same way.
  • Oh my GOD I hate Nicki. So much. She totally wasted a drink and then also is a whore bitch from hell. And why does she keep setting things on fire?
  • Lucas is such a slut. That being said, I would totally have sex on a carousel if no one was around. Kind of awesome.
  • Peyton and Jake and Jenny are darling. And then Jake calls his little girl “Angel.” My word.
  • Friggin A. Poor Nathan. He feels abandoned and betrayed. And has every right to feel that way. Nice one Deb. Thank the heavens for Haley. “How does it  feel to be abandoned mom?” Yay for emancipation!
  • And yay for Brooke slamming the door in Lucas’ face.

Best Bit: Honestly? Not one of my favorite episodes. But if I had to pick one moment I liked it would have to be Haley’s face when Sheryl Crow walks into the café. And then Nathan gently telling her to settle down.

Ugh! Moment: Nicki kissing Lucas’ arm and licking his fingers. Gross.

Fave Quote: Nathan: “Thanks for the car dad. Now I can get away from you whenever I want.”

Biggest Question: I don’t know what the emancipation rules are in North Carolina but at least one of Nathan’s parents has to sign off on it, right?

On My iPod: “The First Cut Is The Deepest” by Sheryl Crow

__________________________________________________

Don’t forget to pick up all of your essential Naley accessories!!

______________________________________________

Don’t own One Tree Hill Season One yet? Buy it here:
One Tree Hill: The Complete First Season

______________________________________________

My friend and vidder extraordinaire, Kianna (@kiannak23 on Twitter) has created yet another amazing One Tree Hill fan vid. A definite must watch. Have tissues near by!!

Have a GREAT week y’all!!

6 Comments

Filed under Music, Recaps, Television

6 responses to “Retro Recaps: One Tree Hill: 1×13, 1×14, 1×15 & 1×16

  1. Noel Breaux

    Aces as usual, girl!! Let me just say, that “I Shall Believe” is one of my all time favorite episodes. Mainly for the scene when Haley finally goes to see Lucas and he says “Hi buddy”. Omg, almost has as much weight as Nathan’s. “Hi Hales” in 9×11. I get chills just thinking about it. It was SO powerful and beautiful and real. That whole ep did a phenominal job of showing everyone’s struggle and point of view of the same situation and how it affected every life in a different way. Love it. And can I just say that I think (kinda sorta) that in retrospect Brooke finding out about Leyton was kinda great because the scene where she tells Lucas off and slams the door in his face is the first time we got to see “Tough” Brooke. That was a pivotal moment in her owning her fierceness and turning into the Brooke that we adore. It was the beginning of strong Brooke and I love it!

  2. Dawno

    Lucas and Haley in the hospital. Cutest. This whole cast has remarkable chemistry with one another. Reminds of the Friends cast, where you felt that they actually had history before you started watching their lives…

  3. Kaire

    I love your recap Erin! It is, as always, on point with my feelings. I love the Hi Buddy hospital scene ( for personal reasons haha) Laley is pure gold in it and Nathan making that first step towards his brother is heartwarming. This show makes you feel something with each episode! Love it!

  4. itskayla1026

    GREAT recaps, as usual, love! Sucks they weren’t the best batch of episodes, too much Lucas drama than I liked. He was the biggest dumbass in season 1 I wanted to stab him, too, Brooke definitely did not deserve that especially after she was so amazing to him during his hospital stay and after. I just thank jesus for the great Naley stuff basically all I care about, tbh. Can’t wait to get to 1×18, 1×19, and 1×22 pretty much. Definitely wanna get that bag too at the end, looks good for the summer LOL 🙂

  5. Andrea (@andreaheffernan)

    I would like to point out that because this is an ENTIRE week late, that I shall leave the most epic and longest comment ever. It is 1:05 and I have gone to the kitchen to get a drink and I have opened Open office cause I am going to read and comment. It is going to be a recap of your recap. I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I enjoy reading your recap.

    if Haley was to be dreaming of Nathan and he was clothed. I would be forced to go slap some sense into the girl. Why would you dream about him clothed!! WHY!
    Lets face it. If Lucas and Peyton went to my school, they would have been found out within the hour. No high school or teenager for that matter keeps secrets that well!
    I feel bad for Keith, he is the OLDER brother and he is getting craped on. I feel Keith could have kicked Dans ass! He could do some damage!!
    This is one of the scenes that reminds me why I was not a HUGE fan of lucas! He thought the world revolved around him. He should have known what he was doing was wrong! (And I am just going to say, I DID NOT hate him, just did not love him)
    Nathan and Whitey had the best relationship. I was so sad when he left!
    Poor Keith! The one extra beer was not the BEST idea. This scene while sad also makes me laugh because when Dan carries him to into the ER, you can see how tall CMM is. He is HUGE!
    Ahhhhh Nathan teaching Haley how to shoot a basket! It is so adorable! Naley, I want to have your cuteness level if I ever find a man!
    Ohhhh Nathan, worst timing EVER! (little does he know)
    Ok, this is what I feel, I think while it was very stupid of him to tell her. It was also good cause if she found out some other way, she would have been SO MUCH more pissed.
    This is the episode where I realized that Nathan wore WAY too many baggy sports clothes. Hunny, they are called jeans and the look hot on you, please start to wear them.
    Brooke having to tell Karen about the tattoo. SO AWKWARD!
    I would like to point out when I watched this for the first time, I CALLED him waking up to Nathan. Man, how weird would that have been for Lucas. I would be like What the hell!
    Props to Nathan thought! It is the power of NALEY!!
    Ok, Am I the only one who thought Lucas breaking up with Brooke was totally out of left field. Like we knew why but for Brooke, it was so…..weird
    I loved the Brooke and Karen relationship!
    When dan and deb were fighting in front of nathan. I am shocked he did not leave them both and go to HALEY! Just leave the house!
    Webcam = worst way of finding your BF and your BFF making out! Sucky!
    First singing from Haley! I love her voice! Downloaded all the songs from her on the show!
    Nathans bitchface is amazing!
    How much did I HATE Nikki! When she died on supernatural (where is was an awesome character) I pictured nikki, It made it easier
    OK. I have something to say about the emancipation storyline. That story should have been MUCH bigger. Get rid of the nikki storyline and put this in. Nathan was moving away from his parents at 16!! That is a major deal. They did not put enough time into this storyline. Ok rant done!
    Brooke should have slapped him too!! Do the double slap

    Alright, this is a page which is kinda crazy and I am sorry about this. I hope you enjoy my comments on your comments. Does this make up for being a week late 🙂 I hope so. And the best part is I get to read another one tonight. YAY!! cant wait!! xoxo

  6. Cill Davis (@cilldavis)

    I know, I know. I suck. I just wasn’t very inspired with these episodes. And I was lazy and job hunting. Fun fun. But hey, now you get two comments from me in one day! Yay!

    1X13 This episode gives me so many feelings. Haley dreaming of Nathan shirtless. Haha. Who could blame her? With a body like that, he should never have to put a shirt on. I love how that’s her worst nightmare. She’s so cute. Nathan teaching Haley how to make a jump shot and ultimately a granny shot? Be more perfect. “Was that your jump shot? Because if that was jump shot then I can’t date you anymore.” “You can’t be here. This is embarrassing. I want you to think that I’m not embarrassing.” Then comes the poncho comment. I can quote that entire scene. But, I won’t. I love how Nathan shows his vulnerable side to Whitey. “Some day. We both know that I’ve got a long way to go, Coach.” Nathan Scott will always make me swoon. Lucas is an asshat. Trying to get the best of both worlds. Then he tries to play it like Haley is the bad guy for dating Nathan? What happened to him being happy for her? Ugh. This is when I started hating him. Dan and Deb in therapy. What a lost cause. Also, as for the doctor knowing Lucas needed surgery as soon as he saw him? Um. You forget. This is the same hospital that just let a 16 year old up and leave the E.R. without being properly discharged. Tree Hill doesn’t follow normal laws… I agree, Nathan may not have had the best timing of telling Haley about his original motive for going after her, but at least he told her the truth unlike the cowards that Lucas and Peyton are being. I don’t know how someone didn’t see their makeout session in the hallway. Or the library besides Haley. Dan is always a royal douche canoe to Keith. So depressing.

    1×14 I hate when Naley fight! Makes my heart hurt! Haley has a right to be upset, but she should at least hear Nathan out. She should be able to see that he’s changed since they’ve been together. Since he met her, really. You’ve already saved his life so many times, Haley James. I’m surprised that Haley isn’t more pissed at Peyton. How can someone do that to their best friend? No boy is worth that. Ha. Erin, your offhanded comments make me laugh. What was your first tattoo? 😛 That’d be an awkward place to meet your boyfriend’s mom though. At the hospital while he’s in a coma. Poor Keith. It’s not all his fault. He wasn’t drunk. He was nervous. But Karen is just letting her emotions get the best of her. Brooke, the doting girlfriend. Poor child. Makes my heart hurt knowing what’s to come. Nathan going to see Lucas. Daww. He’s so vulnerable and broken. Both of his parents have broken him and now he’s afraid that he may lose Haley. How awesome yet awkward is it that he woke up when Nathan was there? Nathan telling Haley that he went to go see Lucas because he knew that she couldn’t. I squeee and cry so hard. Then his speech at the end how she’s made him a better person. Daww. I miss the Laley friendship! That end scene makes me wanna cry in a corner it’s so precious. Your question. LMFAO. Who knows where Haley gets her hats or poncho from? 😉

    1×15 Poor Brooke. She tries so hard. No one deserves what’s about to smack her in the face. Peyton is such a fucking coward! Dude. Be upfront about it. Lucas is such a brat, too. He was in a car accident! He needs rest, not to be causing more drama between his girlfriends. Exhibit A he should’ve listened to me, he ends up in the fucking E.R. again. AND Brooke catches them in the act. Such a douche move, dude. Poor Nathan. He’s like an object between his parents. They both deserve to be stabbed and reported for child abuse and neglect. But what, Tree Hill doesn’t have a functioning legal system. I did love Karen and Brooke relationship though. Karen became everyone’s mom. Daww. And, we’re back to my Naley bubble. I swoon every time he speaks. Nathan Royal Scott is just perfect! And Haley playing for him for the first time?! I get goosebumps every damn time I hear her sing. Voice of an angel. To answer your question, I think that Lucas just thought he could have the best of both worlds. He should’ve known that life doesn’t work that way and that the truth comes out.

    1×16 Nathan showing up in his new bribe. Lol. “Ew, take it back!” Haley is so cute. Lucas is a douche canoe. Yay. Nikki the bar slut. I knew as soon as I saw her that she was gonna be trouble in more ways than one. Sex on a carousel. Points for creativity. Lucas the manwhore. Notice how Haley doesn’t give him a hard time about it? She’s such a good person. The best really. I love Jeyton! And how adorable is Jenny?! Ahh! I loved the three of them. So much. My heart broke for Nathan when Deb told him how she left him that summer for an affair! What kind of mom does that? Nathan was right. She made him Dan’s property. Bully and manipulation central. But, Haley saves the day yet again! Go Tutor Girl! FYI, I looked it up, and in the state of NC, you don’t need parental consent to be emancipated. You have to inform them and then prove to the judge that the you can provide for yourself. Haley fangirling and getting all starstruck when Sheryl Crow walks in?! So cute! And, I first heard that song when I was in 5th grade. 8 years ago. Crazy.

    Hope this was worth the wait! And I got excited that I could say it was OTH Wednesday on the 23rd, too. I’m a dork, we know this. I still need to watch Kianna’s latest video. But, it’s not available on mobile. Off to the library! I can’t wait to read this week’s recaps! Uber excited! Keep up the good work, Erin! 🙂

Leave a Reply

