My Interview: Price Peterson

The first thing you all should know about Price Peterson from TV.Com is that he has made me laugh harder than probably any writer I’ve ever read in my life time. He has an uncanny ability to break things down into pure comedy, whether they are supposed to be funny or not. Price does weekly photo recaps of The Vampire Diaries and The Secret Circle as well as recaps for TV movies, award shows and other fabulous things. (These are just a couple of my favorites screen caps):

Please follow him on Twitter (@pricepeterson) for links to all of his recaps and for randomly hilarious tweets about just about everything.

Watching TV is the new, cool thing to do. Of everything you’re watching right now, what is your favorite?

Would you make fun of me and push me into a mud puddle if I said I really like the 2 shows on CW Thursdays?  I honestly look forward to those shows more than anything else, partly because I suddenly feel involved in the fandom and everyone has been really, really nice to me.  So first I get to watch the shows and see what happens, but then I also get to see what everyone else thinks, and I get to read the cool comments on my own pieces.  It’s this big weekly event that I love.  But as for other shows that are on the air right this minute, I truly love Game of Thrones (doesn’t everybody?) and New Girl and Girls.  I also really like Breaking Bad and Teen Wolf (different reasons) and True Blood (I know) and Homeland and Property Virgins.  And I’m really looking forward to QVC’s Christmas in July sale.  I will probably DVR as much of it as I can so I can watch it throughout the whole summer.

You compose amazing photo recaps for two “genre” television shows. Is there a show based in reality that you’d love to recap?

I honestly don’t think I would like to do that, because making fun of real people would make me feel weird and sad.  Like even when I’m poking fun at a bad movie or ludicrous moment from a TV show, there’s still a level of removal where it’s really nobody’s fault that it’s bad.  Except maybe the writer or director, but they can just sit in their infinity pools counting money so who cares?  I’ve learned that personally insulting an actor isn’t really my favorite thing to do (I love actors so much because acting looks really hard to me).  Making fun of a character is cool, but making fun of the actor is less cool (though I’ve done it and regretted it).  So if it were a reality show, as much as that stuff is staged, it’s still supposed to be a real person.  Usually I try to remember how sensitive to criticism I AM and behave accordingly.

Anything you watch that you wish you could just give up?

I’m not trying to brag, but I think I have a really good sense for when I won’t like something.  Either I’ll avoid it right off the bat or I’ll quit a show very quickly after I start getting a bad feeling about it.  Life is way too short (and there are so many GOOD shows) for us to have to endure anything we don’t like.  That being said, I’m not sure how much longer my Up All Night season pass will last.  Gotta clear up some room for the QVC Christmas in July sale, you know?  I’m hearing a lot of buzz about multicolored LED wreaths this year.

There have been a lot of great new shows this season. Do you have a favorite?

I don’t even care what people think of my taste levels, but I genuinely love New Girl and Girls.  I haven’t started watching Revenge yet, mostly because my bestie Lily Sparks (who recaps it for TV.com) has urged me to wait until the summer when I can marathon it while drinking a wheelbarrow of sangria.

Is there one that you were expecting to love but just don’t?

I really wish Ringer had been funnier. And that everyone on Falling Skies got killed off except maybe the son.

You bag on The Vampire Diaries a lot but we all know that you love it. Who is your stand out character for season three so far and why?

Yeah I really didn’t like it when I first saw it, and even when I first started recapping it I was very dubious about its charms.  Whether it’s a chicken-or-the-egg scenario or Stockholm Syndrome or the simple reason that TVD just keeps getting better, my love for this show is now  manifold.  Look, I have eyes and ears and a brain and a heart, so obviously Caroline is the best character overall.  But Season 3 belongs to Klaus in a big way.  I am legit scared that he’ll die or Joseph Morgan will get snapped up by another show because at this point Klaus’ absence would be devastating.  Like, turn him good, make him one of the gang, TURN HIM HUMAN, I don’t even care.  Keep him on my TV please!  Are you listening powers that be?  Please don’t stick us with this boring love triangle week in and week out.  Caroline and Klaus and Rebekah (and Katherine) are the ones I’m really coming back for.

I hate using the term “guilty pleasure” because I never feel guilty about TV but, is there something you’re embarrassed to admit you watch regularly?

No, nothing.  I do tend to watch A LOT of things based on how attractive the actors are, but that’s not against the law, right?  I am a tax-paying citizen and I like it when people look good!

What TV character (ever, in the history of TV) has made you laugh the most?

Jerri Blank from Strangers With Candy.  That show is basically my comedy Rosetta Stone.  Pretty much everything I find funny in the universe can all be traced back to that show’s 30 incredible episodes.  I still can’t believe that show existed and they got away with what they did.  I quote it all the time, to an almost annoying extent.  Strangers With Candy was so effed up that it seems silly getting emotional over it, but it’s definitely something I feel truly lucky to have been able to watch in my lifetime.  “Cancer?  That’s hilaaarious.  I should be a stand-up.  I’m sad.” – Jerri Blank

Favorite television character of all time:

Aside from Jerri Blank, probably Rayanne from My So-Called Life.  It should go without saying that both of these shows were on during really formative times in my life, so as an awkward and confused 8th grader, My So-Called Life occupied A LOT of my mental real estate.  But Rayanne was special in that (1) she was genuinely hilarious, (2) had a cool funky style, and (3) made tons of mistakes and was as realistically vulnerable as any supposed tough-girl I’d ever seen.  I wanted to be her friend so bad and I still think about what she’d be up to today.

Favorite Television moment of all time:

This is insanely difficult, how dare you?  But here’s the moment that got the biggest reaction out of me when I watched it:  The New Caprica “exodus” scene from Season 3, Episode 4 of Battlestar Galactica.  If you haven’t watched this show yet, first of all I’m very mad at you because you still get to see it for the first time.  But I’m talking about a 10 minute rescue sequence in which tons of disparate forces came together into this amazing, terrifying show of teamwork and bravery and I remember gasp-crying when it happened.  I mean I am generally VERY susceptible to crying during movies and TV shows, but I was so excited by this scene that I couldn’t breathe.  It was like the last five minutes of United 93 where I was so wrapped up in a piece of entertainment it took DAYS to recover.  So yeah, I’m a nerd AND I cry during TV/movies (but not in real life, weirdly) so this scene from Battlestar Galactica rocked me to my core basically.  Also I really enjoyed East Dillon’s victory at the end of Friday Night Lights Season 4.  And Locke getting up to walk in Lost Season 1.  And when QVC sold out of Mrs. Snowman glowing hood ornaments during last year’s Christmas in July Sale.

The show you wished would have never ended:

I like it when shows end, even good ones.  I like the closure.  I really wish more of our shows in America were like British ones, where each season kind of plays like a movie and the following seasons are like sequels.  So my answer would be like things that ended before they finished:  My So-Called Life, Veronica Mars, Freaks & Geeks.  Stuff like that.  But if Homicide: Life on the Street was still on, I’d watch it.  That’s pretty much the only procedural I’d never get tired of.

If you could say one thing to all of the current TV watchers what would it be?

If you ever get in an argument with someone over whether something is good or bad… Whoever argues that it’s good is always the winner.  Celebrating something is so much better than shutting it down.  I mean, sure, I still hate Hart of Dixie, but if you like it then you win that argument automatically.  Liking = winning.

6 Comments

Filed under Interviews, Television

6 responses to “My Interview: Price Peterson

  1. And when QVC sold out of Mrs. Snowman glowing hood ornaments during last year’s Christmas in July Sale. <== GOLD

    And A++++ for liking LOST and FNL.

  2. solita

    Price Peterson, you are good people.

    “I’ve changed. People change. Changes… I’m not the same Jerri Blank who informed on those blind orphans. I’m not the same Jerri Blank who revealed the hiding place of those Guatemalans… such as yourself. And I’m not the same Jerri Blank who took a crap in the Fleishmann’s holly bushes… last night.”

  3. South Boston Squirrel Trainer

    i’m loving the “strangers with candy” shoutouts!

  4. Ana

    I like Hart of Dixie, well, I like Wade so I win.

  5. Love that Price is a fan of Homicide. One of my all-time favs that still makes me grimace when I remember it’s off the air.

  6. Pingback: Friday Night Bites, April 21-27: Traffic Troubles, Earth Day Events & Broken Kingdom | Vampire-Diaries.net | A Fansite for the Vampire Diaries

Leave a Reply

