My Life According to iTunes

This game was taught to me by my friend Lee from From My Side Of The Moon (great blog! Check it out!) We haven’t played in ages but it is ALWAYS a good time!

These are the rules: Grab a pen and paper and write down #’s 1 through 18. Open your iTunes to “Music” so your entire library is displayed. Click the Shuffle button. Click Play. Now WITHOUT SKIPPING ANY SONGS, write down the first 18 that play.

This is how mine turned out tonight:

Song #1: Opening Credits: “Fallback” by Sleeperstar

Not super familiar with this song but it’s really pretty and seems appropriate for opening credits. It does talk about “misdirection.”

Song #2: Waking Up: “You Got It” by NSYNC

Great tune for getting up and getting your day started!

Song #3: 1st Day of School: “The Youth” by MGMT

PERFECT.

Song #4: Falling In Love: “Resignation Studies” by The Silent League

This song is really kind of lovely and perfect for skipping hand in hand on a beautiful fall day. Even if it does talk about jealousy. Originally heard on my favorite episode of TVD: Let the Right One In.

Song #5: Fight Song: “Come Back” by Pearl Jam

Wow. Super powerful song and I can hear it played so perfectly behind and epic lover’s quarrel. Originally heard on Friday Night Lights.

Song #6: Breaking Up: “Lover to Lover” by Florence + The Machine

GREAT break up song!! All about moving from bed to bed. I can get behind that! (After a break up! Not now in real life!!)

Song #7: Prom: “I and Love and You” by The Avett Brothers

This is such a stunning song. I can picture the slow dance.

Song #8: Life: “He Won’t Go” by Adele

Pretty sure any Adele song is great as a life anthem.

Song #9: Mental Breakdown: “We Don’t Eat” by James Vincent McMorrow

Originally heard on TVD. First line: “If this is redemption, why do I bother at all.”

Song #10: Driving: “Gz and Hustlas” by Snoop Dogg

Apparently I am over my breakdown enough to jam out to some old school rap. Sweet.

Song #11: Flashback: “Lovefool” by The Cardigans

From Romeo & Juliet. LOVE this song. Very suitable for a flashback of my life.

Song #12: Getting Back Together: “Stop and Stare” by One Republic

OMG!! This is so great! EPIC reunion song! “Time for one last appeal.”

Song #13: Wedding: “Jonathan Low” by Vampire Weekend

This song is from Eclipse. Not really wedding appropriate. It’s about killing some guy I think?

Song #14: Birth of Child: “Satellite Heart” by Anya Maria

Another Twilight song! This one from New Moon. And a bit too sad for the birth of a child. Apparently my iPod has decided to stop playing fair.

Song #15: Final Battle: “Skylines and Turnstiles” by My Chemical Romance

Total head banging song! I think it totally works for a battle scene!!

Song #16: Death Scene: “Warning Sign” by Coldplay

Now I’m gonna cry.

Song #17: Funeral Scene: “Daft Punk is Playing At My House” by LCD Soundsystem

From The. O.C. How awesome would that be to have Daft Punk playing at your funeral?

Song #18: End credits: “The Only Exception” by Paramore

Super gorgeous song. Love it!

 

Give it a try friends and let me know how it goes!! I promise, it is a LOT of fun! Don’t forget to tell me how yours turns out!

2 Comments

Filed under More Me, Music

2 responses to “My Life According to iTunes

  1. I do it with my iPod all the time, though since I kind of inherited it, I had to skip The Eagles songs. (The Big Lebowski ruined me for pretty much every song, except “I Can’t Tell You Why” and “Those Shoes”). I suppose it’s a good way to find out which music is superfluous in my collection.

    I have a test for you. You listen to this song (its a about 2.5 minutes…God i wish it were longer…(that’s what she said) sorry. I had to.) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gj9HiIrsuEY&feature=related

    …and if you like it, you must visit my blog, http://www.liv4music.wordpress.com and read the post about the band. 🙂

  2. South Boston Squirrel Trainer

    you always have the best luck with the shuffle game 🙂 can’t wait to see you guys sunday!!

Leave a Reply

