Music Review: Florence + The Machine

Florence + The Machine’s latest album, Ceremonials was released last fall but after one of the album’s songs was used on Wednesday’s One Tree Hill I have found myself talking about it and listening to it non stop. Again.

If ever there was a flawless collection of music, Ceremonials is it. Truth be told, I don’t buy many full albums anymore. Not when iTunes makes it so easy to get just that one song you want. Also, not that many full albums are worth buying. You get one or three great songs and the rest is filler crap that all sounds the same.

That is NOT the case with Ceremonials. After listening to, seeing live and falling in love with Florence’s first record, Lungs, I was compelled to buy the 2nd after hearing only the first single, “Shake it Out.”

Best thing I have ever spent money on. Honestly. And I am not being overly dramatic when I say that if I was forced to listen to only one album for the rest of time, it would be this one. There is not one bad track on it and it only gets better with every listen. It is perfection from start to finish and has literally changed my life.

I never want to be that girl who forces her loves on others but if you take one thing from me EVER please buy this album. You won’t regret it. If you are a fan of music at all, this record has something for you.

The lyrics are moving, the music is stunning and Florence Welch’s voice cannot be beat. Yes, Adele is amazing but Florence is better. And yeah, I just said that.

I am often asked what my favorite track is from the album. And it is always a hard choice because every song is paradise in its own right. But, if I was forced to pick, it would have to be “Heartlines.” There is nothing more amazing than the beat of those tippany drums set to lyrics that could motivate any lazy ass out of their chair. I dare you to not be moved.

I also love the harp heard during the dance breaks of “Spectrum.” And “Never Let Me Go,” is so beautiful it will break your heart into a million pieces.

Those same tippany drums show up again in the amazing “Bedroom Hymns.” “Seven Devils” is brilliant in its haunting melodies. Always reminds me of Supernatural. Too bad they only use classic rock on the show. This jam would be perfect. “Remain Nameless,” will take you by surprise with its simple beats and immaculate lyrics. And if you don’t want to bounce around to “Strangeness and Charm,” there is a good chance there is something wrong with you.

Have a listen for yourself. If you buy the album and hate it I will pay you back. Seriously. But I am totally poor. I believe in this music THAT much. Enjoy!! And don’t forget to leave comments on your favorite song from the album. I’m always curious about what moves you!

The first single: “Shake it Out”

The song from Wednesday’s One Tree Hill: “No Light, No Light”

My favorite song from the album: “Heartlines”

1 Comment

Filed under More Me, Music

One response to “Music Review: Florence + The Machine

  1. South Boston Squirrel Trainer

    dude i am also a fan! in addition to the songs you mentioned i wanna give a shoutout to “breaking down” and i gotta say “what the water gave me” (especially the demo version at the end) sounds like a lost track from radiohead’s amnesiac, as if sung by thom yorke’s muse… GREAT album šŸ™‚

    when are we seeing them again?! boston, you’re my lobstahh!

Leave a Reply

