Thanks and Love and All of the Above

Earlier today when I posted My Secret about depression, it was scary in a lot of ways. Admitting something like that is really hard to do. Because admitting it makes it real and if you never say it out loud, it doesn’t have to be true.

For some reason, putting it out to all of you was easier than talking about it face to face with any of my loved ones. I know that doesn’t make much sense but it did at the time. However, letting it out, putting that admission out into the universe some how made it easier to talk about in general with everyone.

That blog post had twice as many comments than my Love Letters to the Supernatural boys and One Tree Hill‘s Nathan Scott COMBINED. I also had a ton of twitter and Facebook messages in response. A lot of them were words of encouragement, a lot were hugs and sympathies. An overwhelming amount were  friends who have suffered the very same thing. It’s hard to feel like you’re living on a sinking ship. But when you feel like you have someone on that boat helping to bale the water out, it makes a difference. It makes a HUGE difference.

Thank you to everyone who tweeted, messaged, commented, IM’d, emailed and called. Your love has not gone unnoticed. You have called me brave for sharing such a secret but you too are brave for sharing yours with me. And your sharing has motivated me more than I can say. Hopefully we can continue to love, support and motivate each other going forward. For all of you, LOVE AND UNICORNS!!! XOXO,

Erin

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Thanks and Love and All of the Above

  1. Jema

    I didnt see the previous post but after seeing this on my facebook timeline i went back and read it. You are beyond brave Erin and I thank you for being able to share your secret with the world. We all love you. We are all here for you even though it’s something you must go through feeling alone most of the time and the unicorns would be proud xoxoxox

  2. Cill Davis (@cilldavis)

    Daww. This just made me cry! You’re never alone in this battle. You opening up and talking about it made it easy for me to open up about my own inner demons. It’s nice to know that there are people out there that can relate. Much love, support, and virtual hugs thrown your way! ❤

  3. Ruth (@ruthhcchen)

    Erin,
    I read your post about your “big secret” earlier when I was at work, an didn’t have time to comment. I just wanted to say, that I’m really proud of you for saying it out loud More often than not, so many people who have bouts of depression don’t know that they do or won’t admit it. While I can’t speak for everyone, most people I know, including myself, have had our moments. You’re not alone! From my experience, acknowledging the problem makes its 100x’s easier to deal.
    You being able to find the little things that make you happy to make the day-to-day easier to deal with says a lot more about you than the depression does. Learning to deal with it is what makes you a stronger person. Hang in there, and may you always find joy in what you love.
    ~Ruth

  4. Hi, E. It was no secret to some of us who recognized the symptoms. But saying the words makes it real. There are coping strategies to minimize the damage an episode wreaks on your life.Once you look in the mirror and see the issue for what it is it’s a little easier to work on a plan to deal with it. It’s been said that depression is repressed anger turned inward. I don’t know if this applies in your case, but it might be something to think about. I’ve been there. More than a few times. You’ve taken the 1st and the hardest step to feeling better. Well done, you.

  5. LinoVictoria

    I have been away from twitter so I have only just caught up with your posts from the last few days. I just wanted to say thank you for being so brave about sharing this with us. I have had episodes of depression and anxiety, and I also work in research in the area of mental health. I think it takes major guts to stand up and speak out about any mental health experiences. Just to get technical for a moment, about 1 in 10 people will have clinically serious depression at some point in their lives and the number goes up if you include milder (though still serious to the individual) depression and similar disorders (such as anxiety, bipolar disorder). It is common, yet how many people are open about it? Not many at all. So thank you again for speaking about this when so few people do.

    And remember, depression can be a sneaky bastard but you will triumph in the end, and be stronger for it too!

Leave a Reply

