It’s Arts & Crafts Time Boys and Girls

I’ve been meaning to share this with y’all for a while now and I keep forgetting. Is 32 too young for dementia?

Anyways, when I was in middle school I used to spend HOURS taking Vogue magazine apart and making poster sized collages. I would cut out all the perfume bottles and shoes and dresses that I loved and glue them to a giant piece of foam board. Some of them actually turned out pretty cool. I mean, for a middle school project.

Last week when I was feeling down in the dumps, I had written to all of you guys about feeling “blue” and then started looking for something I felt like doing. I picked up a Vogue magazine and started ripping out all of the pages that had blue on them. And then I cut them out and glued them to paper. Then I did yellow and green and red.

I am pretty excited about how they all turned out. They won’t be hanging in an art gallery any time soon but I think they look pretty awesome hanging in my office. The only thing I wish I’d done differently is to use a stencil or straight edge for the green squares. Some of them look like I cut them out whilst having a seizure.

What do you guys think?

11 Comments

Filed under Photos

11 responses to “It’s Arts & Crafts Time Boys and Girls

  1. Tiffy

    I love this. Its such a cool idea. I think i might just steal it and do something simmilar with my some of my magazines…except i think i’ll use bright colors like hot pinks, violet, teal and lime green. 🙂

  2. onlymystory

    I love the colorful look of all four together but I think the yellow is my favorite. Which is odd because yellow is normally not a color I like.

  3. Wicks

    I’m inspired by you!

    Honestly – I’m reading this thinking that you may possibly have lost it a little – remember that movie where the girl cuts out all the pictures of eyes and puts them on the wall?!? Ya – I was a little scared … But … Erin – these are absolutely beautiful!!!!! …and your no crazier than any of us weirdos 🙂 I keep secret spreadsheets of books I read! Ha!

  4. Dawn (BTSGeek)

    Erin–These are fantastic!!! Very inspiring! First, I love the idea of using materials at hand to dive in and make are, and that you transformed these mundane materials into beautiful pieces. I love that for each color you used a certain shape theme (curvilinear blue, yellow circles, green rectangles, red triangles). The consistent shapes helped marry the different cuttings together. You got such nice visual depth and movement. Each panel is monochrome, but not at all monotonous. And they all live together so beautifully as you hung them. Love it! Keep creating!

  5. Bird

    Oh I like! They are fun and vibrant! What a great project.

  6. South Boston Squirrel Trainer

    erin i used to do this sort of thing ALL the time, usually with pics of mike vitar and leo dicaprio though 🙂

Leave a Reply

